PDA

View Full Version : wet-sanding attempt by previous owner?

gen.oneill
09-14-2013, 06:21 PM
Hi, first post here :)

I bought a used 2010 Mazda 3 a few months ago.
It had a couple of small door dings and scratches, but I didn't mind them too much.

Later, I noticed that there is a part of the passenger door panel that looks hazy or cloudy, setting it apart from the rest of the car.

Given that it's right over the area with several scratch marks, I assume the previous owner tried to fix the scratches, without success (as you can see).

http://i39.tinypic.com/2qvf2c8.jpg

I did some research online and it seems like the result of wet-sanding without using compound to polish it afterwards.

What do I need to fix this hazy area so that it looks like the rest of the car? Just some compound and elbow grease? I'm less concerned about the scratches as they look difficult to fix..

This is probably a basic question for most of you, but I'm new to the detailing world and I wanted to check that I wasn't going to do something stupid.

Thank you!

rmagnus
09-14-2013, 06:40 PM
Welcome to AGO.

I'd like to see a picture abit more wide angle to get a better perspective.

The direct answer to your question is machine polish out the scratches with compound the polish and seal with wax or sealant.

Depending on the wetsanding if done correctly they would have finished with a grip sandpaper in the range of 2000-3000. If so a DA polisher with a mf pad can handle removing those scratches. Traditionally they are removed with a rotary polisher and a wool pad then polished up and waxed.

In recent time most have been taking the sanding jobs to the 2500 grit and even 3000+ grit for easier finish work. At lower grits the paint will be left with a haze at higher grit 3000+ the paint will have some gloss and reflection.

Does that help you? Do you own a DA or rotary polisher?

gen.oneill
09-15-2013, 06:59 AM