PDA

View Full Version : New guy with questions!

One2nine
09-09-2013, 01:11 PM
Hey guys, new to the forum. I'm not so much "new" to detailing but I'm new to the depth that I'm looking to go. My previous details were a basic wash, clay, wax/sealant. I recently just picked up a DA buffer and have been trying to school myself a little on making it the most beneficial. So let me start with the products I'm looking to use and well go from there. I've previously been using meguires nxt 2.0 with great results. So I just picked up some Wolfgang 3.0 swirl remover and glaze as well as some blackfire crystal seal, and car pro eraser. Im looking for a wax/sealant stripper as Ive read/had mixed results with the dawn wash. Any tips on a good wash to start fresh? So correct me if I'm wrong but here's the process I'm looking to do. Thorough washing followed by a claying, wipe down with car eraser, apply swirl remover then glaze. Now here's where I'm looking to you guys. If I apply the blackfire crystal seal can I wax/seal over that? I've had great results with rejex sealant followed by a carnuba or synthetic wax. I've been eyeing up the blackfire monton wax as well any input?

So what are some recommendations on a good wash/stripper? Am I ok to wax/seal over blackfire crystal? Any other tips would be great. Also, I have billet wheels on the truck. Haven't found a polish I liked. Just picked up some wheel wax for them. Any testimonials?

On a side note, my truck got keyed a few months back and will be going in for paint shortly. Should I stay away from the DA/waxing on the fresh paint for a while or am I ok?

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z152/Rmrider125/97BC7C24-D123-4B9B-8E24-4FDAA0031187-2148-000000E05094356B_zpsfe28c7e4.jpg

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z152/Rmrider125/103.jpg

I try to keep them fairly clean but a DA is a major time saver, especially for the truck.

Evan.J
09-09-2013, 01:28 PM