PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie, Totally Overwhelmed

tonydi
08-31-2013, 12:36 AM
I've got a brand new bright red Hyundai Genesis Coupe and made the mistake of looking in forums such as those here. ;)

A couple of hundred dollars later and I'm stocked up on towels and other stuff. I'm washing it with the Garry Dean method and ONRW&W and it looks beautiful.

But I got the email tonight about the Labor Day sale on polishers and thought maybe getting a polisher might be a good idea. I didn't really want to spend a lot of money because I'm afraid it's going to end up sitting on a shelf after the first time or two that I use it.

I started looking at all the variations of pre-packaged kits. I thought at first that the PC unit would be a great choice because it seems to be such a popular unit. But then saw a lot of good things being said about the new GG unit, which looks to be a bit less expensive. Then I saw all the threads about switching to different sized pads and now I'm totally overwhelmed.

So I'm asking for specific recommendations on what I should get. One red car, paint is brand new and no problems, not garaged, probably will polish MAYBE twice a year because I'm just too lazy. ;)

And maybe the right answer for me is to not get a polisher at all, I just don't know as I've always just hand polished all of my other cars.

So fire away, all opinions welcomed!

BradsDetailing
08-31-2013, 12:53 AM
If your car is, for the most part, swirl free, just clean, clay and hand polish the surface real good and apply a coating.

You'll never use a polisher on it if you coat it and wash it right. It'll be about $200 down the drain unless you start polishing other people's cars.

Compounding and polishing takes away clear coat ad you only have so much. The best thing to do is get it perfect, coat it and maintain it.

I would also suggest getting clear bra on the front bumper, fenders, hood, mirrors and cups.