PDA

View Full Version : Advice please: removing coffee stains on pseudo-suede fabric

1fastTbird
08-26-2013, 11:06 AM
AG members, I need your advice on this one:

I just spoke to my father who was very upset because he spilled coffee on the seats of his "baby" aka his 2001 SVT Lightning. In addition to helping him out, I am indirectly helping myself out because I'll be the next owner of the truck, so needless to say I want to keep it as perfect as possible. The fabric on the seats is the factory pseudo-suede material.

What process and products would you use on cleaning the seats. I assume like paint correction, the idea is to do a test spot with the least aggressive method, then work up. I am not a professional detailer, so I do not have access to a steam machine of anything like that (and if the answer is to simply have it professionally cleaned, I can handle that.) I have Meguires APC+, but thats about it when it comes to anything that can be used on fabric.

statusdetailing
08-26-2013, 11:22 AM
Don't touch it with apc+. You'll end up setting the stain because it is a high ph chemical. I have a neutral ph spotter that works well.

You want to keep coffee stains as dry as possible or else you will clean it up and then a few hours later it will always come right back.

I would try a couple things:

Buy some Folex from a local home depot or lowes. Spray it directly onto a microfiber towel (Not the seat!) and then gently dab and wipe. This should work.

Was there any milk or creamer in the coffee? If there was you can add a little peroxide to the folex (around 2 ounces to a 32 ounce bottle). The peroxide helps break up protein stains.

If you don't want to go out and buy folex you can actually get a coffee stain out with white vinegar. Dab a little on a microfiber and then dab and wipe the same way as before.

Without going into the science of it you need a slightly acidic chemical to remove coffee.