PDA

View Full Version : what buffer combo on AG to get for paint correction?

saulpr
08-12-2013, 05:43 AM
hi,

i am very new to detailing, i have a black bmw 335 with swirl marks. from 1-10 id say my swirl marks are a 7.

Ive been reasearching a little and have found AG buffer combos to be well priced.

I saw a awesome video of mike removing swirl marks using wolfgang products and a porter cable. very helpful!

Now my quesion is this: of the buffer combos ive seen on AG which ones have you guys used and which is better?

ive looked at adams and theyre products seem easy enough but they seem a little expensive at least to me.

i was looking at the Griots kit which i believe to be fairly priced and meguiars is very reputable. Griot’s Garage & Meguiar’s Paint Perfection Kit 3rd Generation! (http://www.autogeek.net/griots-garage-paint-perfection-kit.html)

what do you guys think?
what has been youre experience with products that work as far as removing swirl marks with less effort?
what machine is the most effective , comfortable and well priced?

Mike Phillips
08-12-2013, 06:52 AM
Hi Saul,

DA polishers, the entry level type like Porter Cable, Griot's and Meguiar's are completely capable of de-swirling your BMW. In fact millions of cars have been de-swirled using these type of tool and I know I've done a few myself.

The next step up would be either a Flex 3401 or a Rupes Bigfoot polisher.

Most people that start out with a Porter Cable style are either happy with the tool if they're only dong their own cars. If a person starts doing more cars for fun or money they soon find out the limitations of the PC style tools as you can stop the pad from spinning with too much downward pressure or when buffing curved body panels.

If you're going to get a PC style tool then no matter which tool you get you'll want to get a 5" backing plate and go with the 5.5" pads as these will rotate best on this type of tool and pad rotation is necessary for removing swirls and scratches.