PDA

View Full Version : Please help me choose pads

Harry Da Hamster
08-08-2013, 02:25 PM
Lake Country has an enormous selection of pads; Flat, Hydrotech, Waffle, CSS, Hybrid...:confused:

I will be pulling the trigger soon on a Rupes 15 and a cheap and used traditional DA (PC, Meg, HF) with 3" pads. I currently have Menzerna SF4500 and FG400. I have Meguiars M101 on the way. And i'll probably be buying Sonax Perfect Finish 4/6 and Meguiars M205 soon.

Please help me choose a pad for each step of the process and why you recommend it. Cutting, heavy oxidation, polishing, finish polishing, glazing, wax application.

Thank you :)

parttimer
08-08-2013, 03:21 PM
Well, as far as pads go, I am just getting into this, I have orange, pink, white, gray, blue and red. I just got the pinks so I haven't tested them. I used the orange with Wolfgangs Total Swirl Remover, its what came with the kit and recommended. I followed that with finishing glaze on a white pad, polish enhancer on a blue pad and Fuzion with a red for my SRT. Was very happy with the results but I am still learning. The orange pad and swirl remover got rid of most of the small hairline scratches, I did find a few that need me to go over it again, someones dog with muddy paws jumped on the driver door. I almost cried.
I did an online chat with the folks here at AG and they recommended the pad choice. Just ask them, i'm sure they will help you spend your money!
I used the CCS pads, Junkman recommends the hex logic pads. I don't have those so I can't comment.
I used the red for fuzion as its the softest and has not cutting, just applies the polish.
Orange obviously for cutting, its the big gun, although I see a yellow out there that is probably more abrasive.
White and gray may be interchangeable, I think white has a bit more cut to it, its definately more firm than gray.
I think more cut to the pad more aggressive product then work your way up, softer pad, less abrasive product.

Rival
08-08-2013, 03:38 PM