PDA

View Full Version : New guy

DazzleFX
08-05-2013, 12:50 AM
Hi Everyone,
Keith here and I have been lurking on this site for a few days. I am a novice at detailing however my coworker likes how I take care of my bmw so much she wanted me to make hers look the same. That comes after I have been getting on her case for neglecting her 2002:)

So with some great advice from autogeek and this forum plus watching tons of videos I tackled the job this weekend. I had her car for two days.20427

Boy I sure did have a filthy car. I have never had to clean one so caked in dirt before.

Day1- Saturday picked up the car. It was rainy in the DC area all day so all I was able to squeeze in was an engine wash, a vacuum and Folex spot clean on the carpet, a wipe down of the interior surfaces with warm slightly soapy water and a quick wash. I used Mother Wheel Cleaner on the wheels on this day.

Day2- Great weather all day! I started out with Sonax on the wheels to break down the caked in brake dust and iron particles. Sonax worked but only so much as these wheels were the dirtiest ever! I then have it a second pass with IronX and that broke it down better plus some brushing it cleaned them well. Next was a dawn wash followed by an IronX spray.