PDA

View Full Version : Painful tingling in hands after polishing.

Pages : [1] 2 3

Throop210
07-05-2013, 10:31 AM
I can do a couple panels with my Griots Garage polisher before my hands hurt to bad. Its the pins and needles type feeling you get after a body part goes numb. Is this common? Does this go away after time? I'm new to using a polisher and maybe I'm just not used to it or maybe I'm just a wuss.

Thanks
Josh

Paul Mitchell
07-05-2013, 10:57 AM
Have you ever been tested for carpal tunnel syndrome? That might be your problem.

Rayner
07-05-2013, 11:07 AM
Just sounds like vibration to me. Try gripping the machine harder. Also you maybe stopping the machine from spinning so its just vibrating back and forth, left and right.

It's surprisingly easy to stop a DA/ RO from spinning so you could draw a single thick black line on the backing plate so you can actually see it spinning or not.

If the machine isn't spinning it will exaggerate the vibrations a lot.

FUNX650
07-05-2013, 11:09 AM
I can do a couple panels with my Griots Garage polisher before my hands hurt to bad. Its the pins and needles type feeling you get after a body part goes numb. Is this common? Does this go away after time? I'm new to using a polisher and

maybe I'm just not used to it or maybe I'm just a wuss.

^^^Don't ever try to get used to something "unnatural" like painful tingling/numbness!!!^^^
You didn't have these symptoms before using a polisher...Did you?

Thanks
Josh
"Tingling in Hands" can be, indeed, severe; be chronic; episodic; even hereditary.

It could also be a symptom of:
-"Repetitive Stress Syndrome"
-The onset of nerve damage that is known as: "Peripheral Neuropathy" (over 100 types...including Carpal Tunnel)
-"Vibration White Finger"
-Forewarning of Diabetese (diabetic neuropathy)
-Bacterial or viral infections...even toxic exposures (what's in the products you're using to detail?)

Alarming as the above may seem...