PDA

View Full Version : Noob looking for some advice

queens guy
06-30-2013, 10:40 AM
Hello all Noob here in forum. I have a 2011 Nissan Murano (wife's daily driver) and I did a quick detail yesterday. I managed to get a pretty "decent" look to my car without the polisher. I have ordered thePorter Cable 7424 XP, Meguiar's 105/205 and a sealant. I also have the basics, of buckets, micro towels, clay bar kits etc.

Questions:

can I use all purpose cleaner on under the hood? I was thinking just spray and wipe?I have built up a film of dirt all over and want to clean it out without using water hose etc.

I am attaching some pics of how my engine etc looks and also some after pics of the detailing i did by hand. I washed it, clay bar, washed again, spray wax.

Looking at my paint I don't think I will need to use the 105 (ultra cut compound ) yet as the paint looks and feels pretty good. I do have a few scratches, chips that I will fix and wet sand the car.

If I follow this wash-wet sand-compound-protect-seal , next few car washed should i just wash and seal? depending if the paint stays in good condition?

wdmaccord
06-30-2013, 11:47 AM
I wouldn't wet sand, especially if you are new to detailing. I've thought about filling and wet sanding some chips myself, but I think it's just too risky. Especially since I don't have a paint gauge, so I don't know how think the paint is.

If you fill a chip with touch-up paint in very light layers to build it up, I have found that a decent cutting compound will actually level it out a little bit...not perfectly, but it helps.

My 2 cents.

Robert8194
06-30-2013, 12:04 PM
Spray and wipe might work if the engine is completely cold. If warm, my experience has been that the APC dries before you can wipe it off. I normally use steam with my all purpose cleaner but have covered delicate electrical components and used a light mist from the hose.

hernandez.art13
06-30-2013, 01:02 PM
Check this out Queens Guy

http://youtu.be/Jlhvgtp_6vk