PDA

View Full Version : applied wax too thick...

matryx
06-28-2013, 01:04 PM
I finally had time to wax the car with the Bouncer's Vanilla Ice wax I picked up awhile back.

It's actually my first paste wax I've used. Other products I have are Collinite 845, OCW, and Mother's liquid waxes. I had a difficult time applying and taking off the Vanilla Ice because of my inexperience. I applied wayyyy too much wax and it was hard as hell getting that wax off.
I probably put in towel marks because I really had to go at it to buff the wax off. I will try to put it on super thin next time but just wanted to know if there's an easier way to get the wax off if you have applied too much. I tried ONR detailing spray but that didn't help.

c8n
06-28-2013, 01:10 PM
I have no experience with Vanilla Ice but I am assuming waxes are waxes and would say trying applying more wax to the affected areas and immediately wipe off.

glen e
06-28-2013, 01:13 PM
I have no experience with Vanilla Ice but I am assuming waxes are waxes and would say trying applying more wax to the affected areas and immediately wipe off.

^^^^this info is great advice

most people new to detailing use far too much of everything.....LOL

Joeyavhu
06-28-2013, 01:22 PM
A buddy of mine did something like this when we were detailing his Land rover. I left for a minute while he applied the paste wax. This led to him using the entire contents of the new tub on 1 car. It took almost 2 hours to get it all off using beach towels since the microfibers werent removing any of it.

matryx
06-28-2013, 01:34 PM
Never thought of putting more to get it off.

So it's been a day already now and it had rained. I'll wash the car Sunday and apply some more very thin and buff off again. Does that sound alright?

Wheelzntoys
06-28-2013, 01:48 PM
Per the man himself:

I'd recommend a panel at a time application & thinner than a gnats wing ( wax is translucent and does not always haze when ready to remove ) -