PDA

View Full Version : I successfully landed a detailing job at a large dealership.

Pages : [1] 2 3

JakeyDill
06-24-2013, 04:00 AM
Today I landed my self a job with Motorama Moorooka located in south-east Queensland, Austalia

The dealer uses rotary buffers and I have little experience with such a powerful machine

I will be working on
Toyotas
Holdens (australian chev/pontiac)
Fords
And
Mazdas

Advice would be much appreciated before I start my training

Evan.J
06-24-2013, 05:07 AM
Go to a junk yard and get a panel and get a hold of a rotary and start practicing.

Rotary buffers are great tools but hold lots of power and with that power can do damage if used improperly. I would certainly practice before you take the rotary to one of the clients cars at the dealership. The last thing you want to do is burn through the paint on a new car or one that is being detailed .

Mike Phillips
06-24-2013, 06:55 AM
Go to a junk yard and get a panel and get a hold of a rotary and start practicing.

Great advice...

Rotary buffers are great tools but hold lots of power and with that power can do damage if used improperly. I would certainly practice before you take the rotary to one of the clients cars at the dealership. The last thing you want to do is burn through the paint on a new car or one that is being detailed .

Great info...

Here's the sad news... most dealerships just don't care about giving their customer's a quality finish. They care about profits and reducing costs. They don't get it that the factory clear is thinner than a post-it note and that making their detailers use nothing but a rotary buffer is a recipe for swirled out cars and thus thinner paint.

When someone swirls out a car, this removes paint. Fixing the problem removes some paint. See how the entire approach is faulty.