PDA

View Full Version : Towels for Garry dean wash

Dewy
06-23-2013, 06:19 PM
I know this has already been asked but could not find the answer. What towels do you all use when using the dean method? Using it on black and don't want to take any chances. Also do you have trouble with zaino towels linting?

MyFirstES300
06-23-2013, 06:28 PM
When I "did" do the Dean method I used Microfibers that were not too thick and plush. I found it easier to clean as opposed to the thicker ones like the Chinchilla's or Cobra 600 g/m2's. I used the equivalent of these:

Special Purchase Light Blue Microfiber Towel (http://www.autogeek.net/buffing-and-polishing-towels1.html)

They were ample for the job. -Ed

Fphillips
06-23-2013, 07:07 PM
I've been using Meguiars supreme shine towels for the last 6 months with zero issues.

swanicyouth
06-23-2013, 07:18 PM
I like thick plush towels. I have rotation of 4 sets: Grey Cobra 530s, MFT 600 gsm green, AG's / MFT's blue/grey 700 gsm waterless wash towel, and Chinchillas. The green MFT towels are my favorite.

Since you don't want to go back into the bucket, I like high gsm towels because they hold a lot of liquid. I find 7 of these towels will suck up almost exactly 2 gallons of water. I never go back into the bucket once I remove a towel. Since I only use 2 gallons, I always use DI water right out of the plastic jug - costs $2.

I also find the plush thick towels don't mar the paint. This is just my preference, but I think you should use the thickest plushest towels you can afford. I always foam and pressure rinse the vehicle and spray the panel(s) down with waterless wash before touching them. I've been doing it this way for a while with zero scratches or marring.

There are faster ways to do it, but I'm looking for excellent results, not a fast car wash. Some may feel there is no point in doing a rinseless wash if you rinse the car down first. So, whatever works for you.

wdmaccord
06-23-2013, 07:31 PM