PDA

View Full Version : Maryland Newbie - Help with materials?

Kyle_Elantra
06-14-2013, 12:52 PM
Hello!
I live in Frederick, MD, and I'm here for a couple of reasons.

The first is to introduce myself - my name is Kyle and I am an analyst/programmer for a bank here in Frederick. I got really into detailing when I had my first "nice looking" car, a 1995 Eclipse GST. I hit a deer in that car in 2009 and haven't done any detailing work since.

I always told myself that if I had a brand new car I could keep it looking great.

Well, I bought my first brand new car earlier this year only for an old lady pulling out of church to hit me and mess up nearly the entire driver's side. I had 300 miles on it! It's since been repaired, but it'll never be "new" again. I was discouraged from maintaining the car but I have since calmed down with that attitude and am starting to get excited about this car again.

I bought a 2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited - it isn't the nicest car but for me it's the most car I could afford. It's got leather and the tech package and alloy wheels...fun things to keep clean.

I signed up today mainly to ask for advice on what to purchase. I have learned more in the past couple of months by reading and watching videos on here than I could have anywhere else. I believe I have a general idea of what I'd like to do, and I don't have the tightest budget, but I tried to put together a list that balanced cleaning power and money.

This is what I have so far. I feel that I've spent way more than I should, but I also don't want to skimp and forget something:

I already have Meguiar's Gold Class car wash from when I had the Eclipse.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/AG_Cart_1.png

Thoughts? Recommendations? What am I missing? I will be picking up some Lowe's buckets for the Grit Guards.

Also, if anybody in Frederick has a hose lol... My wife and I live in an apartment in a really old house that has no outside water hookup.