PDA

View Full Version : How to be more efficient and not repeat steps? Also when to tape/untape?

Detailed Josh
06-12-2013, 11:05 PM
I just started learning how to detailing (buffing/color sanding/etc.) at school so I'm sure it'll be covered, but I'm wanting to see others perspectives and learn now as I'm really trying to start a detailing business hopefully soon once I get more practice on some more cars.

I know all cars are going to vary on the dirtiness, defects, and what the customer wants as far as a production detail or show car detailing, but what are some steps to be more efficient without repeating unnecessary steps and wasting time?

A list something like:

Wash (I'm going for ONR) panels
Wipe dry with microfiber drying towels
etc. etc..

Also I'm still unsure of when to tape, what, and when to untape. On a junk fender I practiced color sanding and then a multi-stage compound, polish, swirl, etc detailing I felt like I taped it, untaped, and then re-taped again because I was having "ghost" tape lines from some of the more aggressive early steps (color sanding). Anything I should ALWAYS tape up, and when do I remove (and reapply if needed?) the tape?

I think this is a lot so if you can answer any of this I appreciate it.

thebamboo23
06-12-2013, 11:37 PM
I think you should keep on learning until you have a solid foundation of what you're doing

Where are you learning how to sand/buff?

Body shop sanding and detail wet sanding is a different game

You asked very very very basic/common questions. Which are thousands of answers on various detailing forums

Keep practicing, read a lot, trial and error, ask more troubled questions, try products/tools, read every thread in the Show n Shine section
Everyone's method/process/approach differs from car, paint hardness, customers needs/budget, tools/products the detailer has

Detailing by M
06-12-2013, 11:45 PM