PDA

View Full Version : Mix & Match

mikesal57
06-07-2013, 10:06 AM
Hello..

Can you mix different brands to get you desired results?

EX: Meg's Ultimate Compound and then use say WG Finishing Glaze?

thxs

Mike

CrayBrown
06-07-2013, 10:09 AM
Of course. Its generally recommended by the manufacturer that you stick to their line. There is nothing wrong with mixing though. I just used UC and followed with wg polish and my results were very impressive

mikesal57
06-07-2013, 10:41 AM
Of course. Its generally recommended by the manufacturer that you stick to their line. There is nothing wrong with mixing though. I just used UC and followed with wg polish and my results were very impressive

Thank you sir...

I'm a newbie at this...my first attempt was with the Wolfgang Duo & the Griot's polisher
The car came out great except for the hood...needs more aggressive treatment
Was thinking of doing the MEG UC & WG Glaze..

Is it ok to use a polishing pal to apply both products because of all different body lines and curves?

Mike

CrayBrown
06-07-2013, 11:03 AM
Yeah hand polishing is always okay. It's much safer for some spots.

Keep in mind when using UC that you want to make sure you work it until it starts to become almost clear. It has diminishing abrasives which breakdown and polish finer the longer its worked. That will prevent hazing and having to do more work when finish polishing.

shoot me a PM and ill give you my email you can shoot me any questions you have.

mikesal57
06-08-2013, 09:03 AM
Yeah hand polishing is always okay. It's much safer for some spots.

Keep in mind when using UC that you want to make sure you work it until it starts to become almost clear. It has diminishing abrasives which breakdown and polish finer the longer its worked. That will prevent hazing and having to do more work when finish polishing.

shoot me a PM and ill give you my email you can shoot me any questions you have.

Thx Mr Brown..

another question....