PDA

View Full Version : Newbie w/ restoration ?'s

Jawzey
05-26-2013, 04:46 PM
Hey guys,

Newbie here to detailing. I have a 2006 black MBZ that has not-so perfect paint. There are swirls all over the car, moderate water spots, and some scratches. I have decided to purchase the Griot's Garage 6" polisher, along with LC pads. However, I can't choose what to use to correct my paint. I was pretty confident in the Wolfgang Twins, however I'm now thinking it might not be strong enough to remove everything. Should I consider the M105/205 combo instead? I understand that the M105 is a compound, and is harder to use and more abrasive, compared to the TSR which is not a compound but instead a swirl remover. Also, I've read around these boards that the Wolfgang Finish Glaze is not really a glaze, but a light polish. Is there truth to this? What do you guys think would be better for my paint needs? The Wolfgang Twins or the M105/M205 combo?

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=01ab9b462c&view=att&th=13ee2cd857fabe44&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_QVPCEXqTxCVuiBZfr3oLp&sadet=1369604760427&sads=NP91Mzbdf1jAw-MA1Merm_HWNvg&sadssc=1

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=01ab9b462c&view=att&th=13ee2ce22a14d394&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_QVPCEXqTxCVuiBZfr3oLp&sadet=1369604791643&sads=UtHzNnCv6t2QZjp5WVFVLanU7M0

BradsDetailing
05-26-2013, 04:49 PM
Sub'd

Im also in the same exact situation, same pads and polisher.

I purchased the 105/205 combo but I'm thinking 101 (foam cut) would of been a better option fro what I've read recently.

hernandez.art13
05-26-2013, 06:15 PM
This might be helpful...

http://youtu.be/Af1Ld1m2FG4

Evan.J
05-26-2013, 06:41 PM
Have you tried a test spot with the items that you have? If not do that before you buy something. After checking your results if they aren't to your liking the you may need to bump it up.