PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Body Car

PristinePro
05-24-2013, 02:02 PM
Hi,
I have polished many aluminum rims in my time but never have I had to polish an entire cars aluminum body. Granted it is a Cobra so its not a large body but plenty of small areas that will take some time to finess. I have lots of experience with polishing clear coat as I do that on a regular basis. Has anyone here polished an aluminum body? I have only seen pics of the car so far but the finish looked like it was in bad shape, and the new owner confirmed that it was really marred up from some improper cleanings from the looks of it. So its going to need some extra love. I am researching some products to use on his new baby. Going to need something with cutting power and another to jewel the finish up. Also a very durable sealer. Recomendations on some worthy products would be great to help my search. Thanks

PristinePro
05-24-2013, 02:27 PM
Just to make sure no ones confused, it is a bare aluminum body thats been polished. So no paint. After reading my post I thought I should clarify that haha

Theo_Auto_Fines
05-24-2013, 02:32 PM
Pics??

Blackthorn One
05-24-2013, 02:37 PM
Sounds like this job calls for metal polish and metal sealant. I don't see why you would use paint polish for aluminum. Lots of black pads and towels in your future.

Durallymax
05-24-2013, 02:48 PM
There are a few companies that sell wheels and compounds that will work well for aluminum. Caswell plating and Zephyr are two examples.

I have never tries any of my paint wheels or compounds on the aluminum.

You will need a rotary to run the buffing wheels as you run them on edge.

Get some sandpaper around fpr the deep stuff. 320 is usually about the coarsest many go but some go down lower. Sand back to 600 and the emery compound will take the sanding marka out.