PDA

View Full Version : To use a DA polisher or not, that the question

Pages : [1] 2

Venom93corba
05-14-2013, 03:48 PM
Ok so I'm a total noob with all this stuff but it looks like using a DA polisher is the cats meow. My problem is I lack the confidence to use one and I'm trying do do some paint correction (swirl marks) on a BLACK Escalade. I've watched enough Porter Cable videos and it doesn't look that hard but I'm just afraid that I'll make it worse, ha ha. Thoughts? Someone please boost my confidence :)

rms64
05-14-2013, 03:51 PM
I was in your shoes not all that long ago, doing everything by hand with good but not great results.

I picked up a GG DA in December and love it - you won't regret it. Not difficult to do and opens up a world of possibilities in terms of results and efficiency.

Just go with a "least aggressive first" approach, do a test spot, and you will wonder why you haven't used one all along.

Just do it!! :xyxthumbs:

parkerslade
05-14-2013, 03:54 PM
Just go with a "lease aggressive first" approach, do a test spot, and you will wonder why you haven't used one all along.

Just do it!! :xyxthumbs:

:iagree:

I agree! DA's are quite fail safe and wonderful to play with. Remember to properly section pass, clean your pads often, and you will love your results. :buffing:

dorkiedoode
05-14-2013, 03:54 PM
My 50 year old co-worker who doesn't speak any English and never watched a single video on polishing, asked me to order him a polisher so he can do what I did to my car. You can do it. We will help you along the way. It's not hard just common sense stuff.

Venom93corba
05-14-2013, 03:59 PM
Thanks guys. What would be a good novice DA? After researching, it looks like the Porter Cable 7424 gets a lot of beginner praise. Also what pads should I be looking at? I'm at a total lose on that one.

sunday joe
05-14-2013, 04:00 PM