PDA

View Full Version : Fading Paint? Oxidation? Polish or sealant to prevent?

Antihero47
05-08-2013, 04:21 PM
I have a 2007 Nissan Titan pickup and when seeing many on the road I notice that the top of the hood gets a sort of clearcoat fade or the paint starts to fade. I'm pretty new to the detailing world but wanted to ask if there is any product or ingredient that would prevent this.

Example..
http://www.titantalk.com/forums/attachments/detailing-truck-care/157275d1362692310-2006-galaxy-black-paint-fading-123.jpg

Are there UV blocking products, do all waxes already have them in there? Can someone explain what this is and how it happens? I just want to take steps if any to keep this from happening. I tried searching but the things I put in didn't bring anything up.

Thanks.

Evan.J
05-08-2013, 05:01 PM
I have a 2007 Nissan Titan pickup and when seeing many on the road I notice that the top of the hood gets a sort of clearcoat fade or the paint starts to fade. I'm pretty new to the detailing world but wanted to ask if there is any product or ingredient that would prevent this.

Example..
http://www.titantalk.com/forums/attachments/detailing-truck-care/157275d1362692310-2006-galaxy-black-paint-fading-123.jpg

Are there UV blocking products, do all waxes already have them in there? Can someone explain what this is and how it happens? I just want to take steps if any to keep this from happening. I tried searching but the things I put in didn't bring anything up.

Thanks.
Are you talking about the hood or the roof? Looks like clear coat failure on the roof if that what I'm seeing. Only thing would be a repaint to fix it. If its a 07 I would check to see if the warranty still covers that.

BlackHawk
05-08-2013, 05:04 PM
Are you talking about the hood or the roof? Looks like clear coat failure on the roof if that what I'm seeing. Only thing would be a repaint to fix it. If its a 07 I would check to see if the warranty still covers that.