PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question: So now what??

Pages : [1] 2

Breakwater
05-05-2013, 02:57 PM
I am an admitted detailing Noob. We have two vehicles that are daily drivers that I wash every other week. I use the 2 bucket method with grit guard. Right now I am using Meg's Gold Class shampoo. I dry with waffle weave and microfibers. I use DP wheel / tire cleaner (works great but would be happy to hear about lower cost options that are as easy to use and just as safe to people and paint) and I use the DP tire dressing, which I also like.

So to my question, I have not graduated to a DA polisher to put on sealants and lots of the waxes I've seen discussed on the forum. Should I be putting something on top to protect the paint after I wash? I've seen Meg's quik wax and quik detailer in stores and wonder if either of these should be used? Is there another product like these I should consider?

I guess another option could be to use a shampoo with carnauba wax in it, but am not sure. If i use a wash with carnauba, can I use it on windows?

Also I am 1000% sure these questions have been asked and answered before but I have been unsuccessful in finding answers I can interpret. Lol

help!!

The cars I care for are a pearl white 2012 Infiniti and a 2013 gray f150.

Breakwater
05-05-2013, 02:58 PM
And thanks in advance!!

mpkav
05-05-2013, 03:04 PM
If you can afford to get a DA and some good pads that is the way to go!! I bought the Porter Cable 7424 XP and Wolfgang products last fall. They work very well!! If you want to stay simple, your wash process sounds pretty good. A coat of Collinite 845 wax will top it off nicely! I'm sure someone will chime in here with a good polish you can apply before the Collinite to make it pop!!

Evan.J
05-05-2013, 03:06 PM
I use DP wheel / tire cleaner (works great but would be happy to hear about lower cost options that are as easy to use and just as safe to people and paint) and