PDA

View Full Version : Removing light scratches combo question

theblob640
04-25-2013, 11:25 PM
Hello all, so think weekend I plan on removing the dealer induced light scratches that are on my Super Bee. I plan on first using the white LC CCS polishing pad with Menzerna SF4000. If that doesn't work I will up it to the orange LC CCS cutting pad. If the orange pad with SF4000 does work, will I need to go back to the white pad to polish it back to a high gloss as I would if I did Menzerna SI-1500 (orange pad) first or will the orange pad with SF4000 do that as well? Sorry if it might sound a little confusing, not sure how else to word it.

Thanks.

thebamboo23
04-25-2013, 11:32 PM
Not familiar with those products.. But from what I'm reading, my answer to you is: you'll have your answer when you do your test spot.. Try out all those combinations you just stated and see which ones yields the best result

AutowerxDetailing
04-25-2013, 11:37 PM
Your logic is sound.

I have no experience with the Menz products you are planning on using but I do know that they use diminishing abrasive compounds. This diminishing abrasive technology is supposed to produce a glossy finish (even in the heavier cutting compound) because the abrasive particles break down into finer and finer grit the longer you work the polish.

Whether or not the paint demands a finishing polish depends on several factors, most notably: the level of perfection you desire from your paint's finish, hardness/softness of your vehicle's paint system, machine used and skill level (DA vs Rotary), etc.

If the pad/product combo is leaving it's own imperfections (holograms from rotary or DA haze, aka tick marks, from a DA polisher) you will want to go back over with a finer polish and pad combo to leave a flawless finish.

Best advice: perform a test spot and see how it looks. If you like the results you get, simply duplicate that process over the entire car. :xyxthumbs:

Ecrissman
04-26-2013, 05:35 AM