PDA

View Full Version : Are these swirl marks?

Pages : [1] 2

Heyjohnboy
04-21-2013, 10:04 PM
Hi all. I just spent the day washing and claying, and then applied Optimum G-P-S with a 9" orbital polisher using a Turtle Wax foam polishing bonnet. The paint looks great from a distance and up close under indirect sunlight. But when I look at it under direct sun, I'm seeing what looks like slight circular marks radiating out from the focal point of the sun's reflection.

As I'm new to learning the finer points of detailing my car, I'm not sure if these are just radiant reflection lines or if they are slight, very circular swirl marks. I tried to take a few pictures so you could take a look and let me know if this is normal, and if not, what I should do next. :-)

http://esolutions.net/temp/Miata_swirl_1.jpg

http://esolutions.net/temp/Miata_swirl_2.jpg

http://esolutions.net/temp/Miata_swirl_3.jpg

Thanks so much for your help. I LOVE Auto Geek and I'm buying all my product here now and watching as many tutorials as I can! :xyxthumbs:

BlackHawk
04-21-2013, 10:24 PM
Those are light swirls. Nothing major really, but still swirl marks. A good polish paired with a white pad would clear that up very well i would think depending on the paint hardness.

hernandez.art13
04-21-2013, 10:25 PM

This is my moms car, the swirl marks you see in the pictures are x2 in person was just hard to take a picture of it.

You can barely tell with the pictures you have but if it's x2 in person then yes you do.

cardaddy
04-21-2013, 10:28 PM
Swirls are never gonna' hide from the sun. ;)
The problem is the 9" buffer just doesn't have the power to do any real paint correction. I have one piled up here somewhere that worked to spread wax some years ago, but the pads ended up causing more damage than good.