PDA

View Full Version : Rookie - Exterior Detailing

pasipple
04-19-2013, 08:54 PM
I just bought a three y/o black Audi Q5. It's in pretty good shape but it has swirl marks...so I want to give it a complete exterior detailing. Been reading the forum for weeks and have bought all my products including a Flex 3401. So, products are set pretty much unless I need to add a step?

My last car was a BMW and I used Zaino products exclusively...all applied by hand...so a DA and the WG line are all new to me. All these products are.

So here's the plan...and I'm looking for any comments. I believe I've got the order down...how about the all the rinse and drys? Necessary? Am I missing anything?

Thanks...

Wash (w/ Dawn)/Dry
Iron X/Dry
Tar X/Dry
Clay/Rinse/Dry

WGTSR/Wipe Damp MF
WGFG/Wipe Damp MF
Eraser/?
WGDGPS
Wait 12 Hours
Fuzion

mavin
04-19-2013, 08:56 PM
Im a total newbie, but I know enough not to wash my car with Dawn :)

Evan.J
04-19-2013, 09:02 PM
No on the dawn use a car wash soap

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/54451-how-detail-your-brand-new-car-mike-phillips.html

You can use tar X and iron x before the wash of the car

Claying will be after the washing and drying of the car

dooyaunastan
04-19-2013, 09:08 PM
Dawn is only really used in addition to car wash soap as an additive to help strip existing LSP. Some people outright avoid it and would rather use a dedicated APC like Meg's APC+ or CG All Clean+. You'll definitely want to pick up a dedicated car shampoo, even if it's just Meg's Gold Class from your local Target/Walmart/Autozone/etc.

Some people actually prefer using IronX/TarX while the car is still somewhat wet from a rinse, I don't think drying after the wash or between those two steps is necessary. I would just use the products with new wash mitts for each one (as in not the soiled one you just used to wash your car) to agitate and remove them, and then dry after it's all said and done.