PDA

View Full Version : Leather: condition vs protect?

kjk66ss
04-18-2013, 02:33 PM
Hey everyone,

I have been using Lexol leather cleaner and Lexol leather conditioner. I am relatively new to this hobby, and have read that I only should condition my seats 2-3 times a year. I have also read that n some leathers, and some conditioners containing certain chemicals are actually bad for the leather.

Now my truck is a 2007 Chevy truck with the LT3 package that has leather seats and know that the leather is not the highest of quality but I still want it to look pristine.

What steps should I be doing when I do my weekly wash, and interior clean. I don't not like anything that looks greasy or glossy.

CM8 6MT
04-18-2013, 03:07 PM
Cleaning leather is a highly debated topic. I like to keep it simple and use what works for me, Mothers LeatherTech. I wrote a review on it sometime ago, check it out:

www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-reviews/61125-mother-s-leathertech.html

kjk66ss
04-18-2013, 03:39 PM
Cleaning leather is a highly debated topic. I like to keep it simple and use what works for me, Mothers LeatherTech. I wrote a review on it sometime ago, check it out:

www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-reviews/61125-mother-s-leathertech.html

Do you use that product with every wash?

kjk66ss
04-18-2013, 06:25 PM
Anyone else have any input

Dogfather
04-18-2013, 07:45 PM
As CM8 6MT stated, this is a highly debated topic, as you'll see when you search the threads. Personally (BTW I'm not a professional) I clean and condition the Ivory leather on my DD only 2-3X/yr (Zaino), but maintain it with frequent light cleaning with Megs QID. No adverse effects so far (4.5 yrs.)

Rsurfer
04-18-2013, 07:53 PM
Anyone else have any input

Your leather is already protected with a clear coating. Just keep it clean. A mild cleaner after every wash will keep it clean and protected.

CM8 6MT
04-18-2013, 10:10 PM
Do you use that product with every wash?