PDA

View Full Version : Pearlized finish

jtempo
04-18-2013, 12:50 PM
Is this type of finish treated any different,when waxing,then other car finishes?Is there any product or products out there?

Fishincricket
04-18-2013, 12:53 PM
Please define "pearlized finish"?

jtempo
04-18-2013, 01:04 PM
Well the spec from the maker calls the finish,snow white pearl.I'm a rookie at this,but the paint has some"depth" to it.Not as shiny as most finishes.

hernandez.art13
04-18-2013, 01:05 PM
I think it's 3 stage?

hernandez.art13
04-18-2013, 01:05 PM
Post a picture

ScottB
04-18-2013, 01:12 PM
I had a Cadillac with pearl red paint option, I polished it just as I did normal clearcoat. The dealer once suggested the clearcoat was tinted with a pearl additive.

Fishincricket
04-18-2013, 01:16 PM
Well the spec from the maker calls the finish,snow white pearl.I'm a rookie at this,but the paint has some"depth" to it.Not as shiny as most finishes.

This should be a base coat/clear coat system, but double check with the manufacturer/dealer. The parts guys can tell you for sure, based upon your VIN. Most likely it's a Tri-coat, but if so then the final coat of paint will be a clear coat and you'd just polish it like any other BC/CC system.

Remember to always do a test spot.

I had a Cadillac with pearl red paint option, I polished it just as I did normal clearcoat. The dealer once suggested the clearcoat was tinted with a pearl additive.

You had a "red jewel Tintcoat" which actually has a light red tint in the clear coat.

Mike Phillips
04-18-2013, 01:25 PM
Since it's pearl white, it might be hard to see if any "tinting" or color is coming off the surface when you polish. So it would be best to do some research to find out.