PDA

View Full Version : Leather care

jjj
04-16-2013, 09:46 AM
Hey all. I had a question about how you prefer or what you think best for leather. Do you guys seal leather or condition? If you choose one over the other please expand. I do both depending on condition. If leather is dry, I condition and rejuvenate. Then seal when leather is in decent condition down the road. I am a little new to the sealing leather world, but so far it seems to work. I just want to double check my work.

Thanks

Pureshine
04-16-2013, 10:35 AM
These are the ones I use.
Leather Masters
SONAX Leather Foam is a premium leather cleaner and conditioner
1Z einszett Plastic Deep Cleaner

jjj
04-16-2013, 06:35 PM
Thanks for info! No one else has input on leather maintenance. Just trying to gain insight on correct process(s)

judyb
04-16-2013, 07:15 PM
Keep your leather clean by protecting it with a leather protector and then regular cleaning.
Adding 'conditioners' which generally contain oils and waxes will change the appearance of your leather over time as dirt will build up on the surface and cause a sheen.

Using the correct care methods and products will not alter the factory finish.

The type of leather you have is 'coated' leather. This is essentially a 'painted' leather
with a clear coat finish over the top. The leather may or may not be dyed through with
aniline dyes prior to the finish coating.

Essentially it is this top coating that needs looking after.
Cleaning is vitally important as the top coat will wear away if allowed to become dirty.
Dirt on the surface will also become ground into the finish by constant abrassion.

'Conditioners', balms, feeds etc (traditionally oil and wax based) cannot penetrate this
finish so are not worth applying - they can also leave behind residues on the finish which will only attract more dirt if allowed to remain. 'Conditioners' will not do any
protecting on leather even if they say they do as there will not be enough active