PDA

View Full Version : How to Speed up production detailing?

Pages : [1] 2 3

akj
04-10-2013, 09:12 AM
So as some of u know I'm fairly new to detailing. But I've recently started doing production detailing for a local car dealer. Ever car I get I must detail then "wax" (according to dealer) AIO is what I do. Usually pinnacle xmt 360, megs mf cutting disc with m205 (good combo?), duragloss 501, or blackfire total polish and seal.
My question is since doing this kinda works really involves doing as many as u can vs doing the best u can, and not being paid as much.
Do u think that I could increase speed if I went to a drive through car wash then come back here for polish? Why would or wouldn't that work?
Also is there any other tips anyone has to help increase production?

Sent from my SCH-L710 using AG Online

Dave Medvic
04-10-2013, 09:27 AM
If the dealer justs wants a production detail, give em exactly that and just use the 360. I would not include any paint correction unless they pay extra for that service, too much lost time if they aren't paying.

ziggo99
04-10-2013, 09:29 AM
I don't think production detailing is a mild polish then an AIO. Just hit it with an AIO and move on to the next one. Get an AIO that cuts AND finishes well like Meguiar's D151, which actually has more cut than the M205 you're using, couple with something like a Tangerine pad, and you'll get production results that will please 99% of the customer's needs.

Mike Phillips
04-10-2013, 09:51 AM
I called on a shop in Seattle once where instead of washing the cars, they just buffed them out as they came in. The Manager explained to me that they used the dirt and road grime already on the car as a supplement to their compounds and polishes. This saved them time and money.

I was aghast to say the least as I watched guys buff out dirty cars about as fast as they could walk around them.

But hey... the paint was shiny!

:D

CrayBrown
04-10-2013, 09:59 AM