PDA

View Full Version : need tips on detailing by hand.

Pages : [1] 2

Texarkana
03-28-2013, 09:28 AM
My aunt got a hold of me a few minutes ago and asked me if I could detail her car. I told her no problem but I have no experiencewith machine waxing or polishing. She is going to buy all the supplies so I'll tell her to pick up a clay bar kit along with polish and wax.

The vehicle is a Audi A4, black paint and aluminum rims. The most I've done is wash, clay bar and apply spray wax to my vehicle so any tips or links to a good write up would be appreciated.

zmcgovern45
03-28-2013, 09:40 AM
My aunt got a hold of me a few minutes ago and asked me if I could detail her car. I told her no problem but I have no experiencewith machine waxing or polishing. She is going to buy all the supplies so I'll tell her to pick up a clay bar kit along with polish and wax.

The vehicle is a Audi A4, black paint and aluminum rims. The most I've done is wash, clay bar and apply spray wax to my vehicle so any tips or links to a good write up would be appreciated.

Audi is notorious for having hard paint that can be difficult to correct. If you are out to remove defects, I would say you NEED a DA machine, or you will either have to work for days at a time or you will have to accept sub par results.

If you are not out to remove defects, but just want to decontaminate the surface and protect it with a nice sealant and/or wax... then there are not too many tips I can give. Simply spread thinly and evenly over the paint (make sure the surface is cool, apply products in garage or at least in the shade). Use products as directed - meaning some are meant to apply and immediately remove while others are meant to be applied and left to cure for a certain amount of time until they are dry and ready to be removed.

Good luck!

jvs1991
03-28-2013, 10:04 AM