PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Detailing Package and other Questions

gcollins
03-20-2013, 11:17 AM
Hello everyone!

First post but have been trolling for about a month gathering info.

I purchased a new Ram truck and I am waiting for it to be delivered. I have forgone the paint & fabric protection from the dealer because I figured I can do this myself much cheaper than what they want. I am located in Canada and I am dealing with an Online shop up here to purchase my detailing products from to get my paint in the best shape before applying the sealant and then maintaining it after.

I have done research online and really liked what I read and heard about the Optimum Line.

This is my first time venturing into the detailing world so here is my package I am going to order and would like some input from you folks on what I can add/remove/change.

Detail Package

Polisher:

Griots Garage 6" Polisher (10 ft cord)
Lake Country 5 inch backing plate
Buff and Shine pads 5.5 inch (5 pack)

* supplier suggested the 5 inch is a better size to work with so this is why I have the backing plate and 5.5 pads

Exterior:

Optimum Car Wash (32oz) (for those dirty days)
2 Grit Guards
Optimum No Rinse™ Wash & Shine (32oz) (for those not so dirty days, and use as clay lube)
Sonus Clay Bar
Optimum Hyper Finish (polish the paint before applying sealant)
Opti-Coat 2.0
Optimum Opti-Bond Tire Gel (32oz)
Sonax Wheel Cleaner
Sonax Glass Cleaner
S.M Arnold Glass Towels 2 pack
Sonus Microfiber Buffing Towel 2 pack

Interior:

Optimum Protectant Plus (17oz) (I like this because it says it won't feel oily)
Cquartz Fabric and Leather Coat (this is to protect my fabric interior)

That is my list....Any thoughts?

And here are some questions I had.

1. After the sealant is applied and I do my regular washes I have read that some of you folks top the sealant off with something for more slickness and gloss. I have thought of these:

A. Optimum Instant Detailer
B. Optimum Car Wax
C. CarPro Reload