PDA

View Full Version : Please Criticize My Detailing Plan!

TroyM
03-15-2013, 12:31 AM
Its been over 8 months since I last detailed my cars (not quite detailing, but a horrific attempt to detail using a $30 Ryobi orbital and microfiber bonnet). I've learned quite a lot since then but I still have a long way to go. Both cars suffer from many swirls since I have incorrectly cleaned them previously.

-Any suggestions, advice, or criticism would be highly appreciated as I am still a beginner and trying to learn! :)

I'll be using Griot's 6" Random Orbital, Griot's Orange and Red Pad, Meguiar's W-8006, and Meguiar's W-9006 depending on the step, and Cobra microfibers.

Step 1: Full Wash
Meg wash mitt, 2 bucket method, etc.
Step 2: Clean engine bay (engine bays are fairly clean)
Meguiar's Engine Cleaner
Step 3: Clean tires and wheels
Mother's Brush Kit
Step 4: Clay
Mother's Gold Clay Bar System
Step 5: Remove Swirls
Meguiar's #9 Swirl Remover
Step 6: Polish
Meguiar's Ultimate Polish
Step 7: Apply Glaze
Chemical Guy's EZ Creme with Acrylic with Acrylic Shine II
Step 8 : Polish Plastic Parts
Mother's Plastic Polish
Step 9: Apply Wax
Carnuba Wax Paste
Step 10: Top Wax
Collinite 845 Insulator Wax
Step 11: Dress vinyl parts, etc.
Chemical Guy's Silk Shine
Step 12: Platinum High Gloss Tire Shine

Afterwards, maintain them with Chemical Guys Speed Wipe Spray Detailer and Streak Free Quick Speed Shine Wax. Should I use Meg's Ultimate Compound at any time? Both cars only have swirl marks, one has a small scratch.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post!

Colinpd137
03-15-2013, 12:46 AM
IMO I would cut Step 7 out because if its swirl free there is no need for a glaze (filler). Also topping glaze with wax does not last very long and will need recoating fairly soon.

Great plan otherwise!

psnt1ol
03-15-2013, 12:48 AM