PDA

View Full Version : Carpro Dlux OVER Opti-Guard

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

WRXINXS
02-28-2013, 11:06 AM
Hello AG,

I got my 1993 RX-7 Twin Turbo Opti-Guarded a few months back. This included all my trim. Even after the trim was coated, it still looked faded so I decided to attempt to apply Carpro Dlux on top to darken it.

I have no experience mixing coatings, and Chris Thomas over at Optimum said that it might stay on for a wash or two but will NOT bond over the Opti-Guard.

I decided to try it anyway and see for myself. I applied the Dlux to my front cowl/front wiper arms and rear wiper arm a month or so back. I have no before pics of this application but they were very faded and Dlux made this trim jet black. Unfortunately I forgot if I used IPA beforehand or not so that may affect the bonding if I did not.

I have washed the car two or three times since (Foam cannon only to remove light dust. No washmitt on the trim. Optimum Soap 2oz to 9oz water) and the Dlux is holding up well. Here are some pics I took yesterday (This is after a few washes with my cannon). I may have noticed a slight drop off over those few washes although at this point it is hard to tell. In addition, I only applied one coat so two coats may have been needed to fully darken the trim in the first place.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/2-27-13_Dlux_11_700.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/2-27-13_Dlux_12_700.JPG

Yesterday I decided to apply Dlux over my Opti-Guarded front air diffuser. The diffuser itself is a brand new Mazda part I put on a few months ago but it is not a very dark plastic color even being new.

I cleaned it with DP Rinseless Wash n Gloss, OPC @ 1:3 and finally used eraser to remove all residue and oils from the surface. It was beading water when I cleaned it so obviously the Opti-Guard was doing its job. Here are some pics of the process:

Products Used: