PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to forum and detailing. Oklahoma

zsmcelroy
02-25-2013, 11:47 AM
Hey guys-
As the title implies I am new to detailing and this forum specifically. I bought an 01 F150 about a year ago and have been slowly learning how to get her up to snuff. I will post some pics, but I am having peeling oxidation on the hood and front fenders. Having done research I understand I will need to re-paint these areas to fix the oxidation, but I am more concerned with getting the rest of this truck cleaned and waxed to avoid the issue anywhere else, as well as working the oxidation areas to a more pleasing look while I save for a new paint job.

The first photo is the paint that is still peeling, and the second pic is of the hood and the general state of the paint. I have a new Porter Cable 7424 on the way, with some Chemical guys pads. Beyond that I am pretty clueless as to what products to move towards. I plan on doing a waterless wash by DP, followed by claying the entire truck in sections. From here is where I need help. What compound should I begin with. What steps do I follow to help correct and rejuvenate this truck?
So a little about me, I am 34 years old and a married father of 3. I have been getting more and more into cars and before i get deeper into the obsession I am hoping to learn to take proper care of my daily drivers. (My wife has a 2012 Toyota Prius that needs a wash and wax.) Thanks for the help and I look forward to posting more pics in upcoming months as weather breaks and I can get after detailing both cars. Very excited to find such a great site with so much knowledge.

Mike@DedicatedPerfection
02-25-2013, 12:37 PM
Welcome to AGO.

Nothing that you pour out of a bottle cant fix the paint peel. That has to be repainted.

Hopefully member Chris's FX4 can chime in on some recommended products as he has nearly the same truck.

jonn127
02-25-2013, 02:03 PM
Welcome!! Where abouts from Oklahoma?

zsmcelroy
02-25-2013, 03:50 PM