PDA

View Full Version : Detailing process after sealant question.

Teebs
02-23-2013, 10:27 AM
I'm new to detailing. I apologize if this has been covered elsewhere; I did search.

Car: 2012 Audi S4
Where: Minnesota, with Minnesota winters
What I've done so far: Touchless carwash, clay, meguiar 205 on PC, meguiar 21 sealant (2 coats).

Question: How do I clean the car while maximizing the life of the sealant? Just one drive will make the car dirty. The winter weather in the midwest makes it essentially impossible for me to wash the car in my detached garage (no water source, no heat, no drain). Thus, I take it to a touchless wash. But does a touchless wash strip the paint of the sealant? Or is the sealant somewhat resilient to a carwash?

thanks for any guidance,
Teebs

Wors
02-23-2013, 10:44 AM
Welcome to AGO Teebs!

Touchless soap could possibly strip your LSP quicker than using a LSP safe soap at home. Touchless soap is usually very strong to make sure it gets the most dirt off the car without caring for your LSP.

In the winters most use either a rinseless or waterless wash method to keep cars clean.

One common method is to take the car to spray bay and rinse the salt/dirt off without soap then perform a rinseless wash.

vet
02-23-2013, 11:07 AM
Welcome!

I've ''heard'' that the prewash in the touchless car wash is what's hard on the wax. I think it probably varies between individual sites. I'm in Illinois, and have the same problem (no drain, heavy road salt, etc.), but my garage is usually warm enough do it. I use the manual bay at the car wash once in a while if the grime is heavy, then do an ONR wash when I get home. I also use the touchless to get the under car wash, so they aren't all bad.

I use DP Poliseal, and top it with Max Wax, it seems to hold up decently in my unprofessional opinion.

People smarter than me will chime in, I'm sure.

I sometimes use a spray wax after a wash to revive the shine.

WAXOFF
02-23-2013, 11:32 AM