PDA

View Full Version : Detailing has a new meaning to me know.

Trey@Autogeek
02-14-2013, 03:26 PM
I am brand new to the auto detailing world. After 6 and a half years in the US Army I decided to move to Florida and go back to school. My poor car has been with me since before I joined and has been all around the country with me. Took a little bit of a beating in Kansas with the crazy weather. The only reason it was slightly "cleaner" in Washington was because of the rain. I bought the car because of the beautiful blue paint job it had, but I never took care of it the way I should have. The interior has also taken a bit of abuse with all kinds of dirty gear and letting buddies smoke in my car. Needless to say I am really excited that I am a member of this forum and look forward to chatting and learning how to take proper care of my car.

ihaveacamaro
02-14-2013, 03:30 PM
Welcome!

Best starting advice I could give to you, before you start spending more money than you thought you had: Grab a Griot's Garage Dual Action Buffer along with quality polishes and pads if you can afford it and you'll be able to achieve amazing results! Most people might recommend the Porter Cable, but don't do it! The GG (Griot's Garage) is so much better :)

Oh and if you're only doing your car, find something you like and stick with it! Lots of deals and specials, but if you're only doing your car, you won't need them :)

I bought more stuff than I would need in the beginning, and now I wish I had more money for the things I do need!

Fishincricket
02-14-2013, 03:33 PM
Glad you're here! Thank you for your service! :)

What kinda car do you have? What color? Any pics?

runrun411
02-14-2013, 04:02 PM
Welcome!

Oh and if you're only doing your car, find something you like and stick with it! Lots of deals and specials, but if you're only doing your car, you won't need them :)

I bought more stuff than I would need in the beginning, and now I wish I had more money for the things I do need!