PDA

View Full Version : Veteran detailers please read!

Pages : [1] 2

akj
02-13-2013, 12:51 PM
FIRST OFF ITS A BIT LONG BUT PLEASE READ ALL THIS

Hi every one. I want to start off by saying what a privilage it is to be a member of this forum. i have been reading through threads here for weeks now. all great stuff.

I am just getting into car detailing. I have an extra shop, and all the tools and some of the product, I got from my father who washes his truck regilously.

but the more i read on here the more i start to think i dont have the right products, i read letters like APC and OPC and have no idea what they mean. i want to buy the products that will last me a long time, instead of buying from auto zone, which is more for the personal at home washer.
and i will be doing this for a job in a shop in town.

I know this has been beat to death but i feel i will learn more being part of the conversation.
so can you guys help me? i will make a list of things i need help with. if you can tell me what you like to use and why and what you suggest to me. keep in mind i know i will have to spend money but would like to keep initial start up as low as possible.

1. Wash/shampoo
2. Degreeser. how do i know its safe on the car?
3. wheel and/or tire cleaner.
4. interior plastic & vinyl cleaner. just to clean not shine.
5. windows? towels, cleaner, how do you not streak
6. tire dressing
7. interior dressing, what is safe how do i know?
8. cloths. so many brands & types of each kind what is best for what job?

this is where i really start to get confused....

9. compounds, polishes, swirl removers, wax, sealant, how do i know if i want a polish with a light cut to remove minor defects, how do i know what to get, autozone products dont offer much info. and after i put on my polish and get the swirls out what is the next step? what is a good product to use.

O AND NOT TO FORGET THE MOST CONFUSING..