PDA

View Full Version : need help on heavy oxidized 1995 javelin

worm
02-09-2013, 11:36 PM
I recently purchased a PC 7424xp to help restore a 1995 javelin FS. The Javelin has what I would call a heavy oxidized gel coat with a few scratches in need of some TLC. I am new to boat detailing and need some help with what products, pads, and steps to use to restore the gel coat and keep it protected, for I live in southern Indiana where the sun and humidity can be harsh in the summer time. I keep the boat cover on during down times to keep as much sun off as possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
thanks in advance!

Detail-Impressions
02-09-2013, 11:42 PM
Rotary buffer with wool pad Compound Megs 105, polish 205, Collinite 845 wax

Crazy Amos
02-10-2013, 01:28 AM
Rotary buffer with wool pad Compound Megs 105, polish 205, Collinite 845 wax

if you dont have a rotary, arent comfortable with it or dont want to buy one then a wool pad on your PC is an absolute must. Dont waste your time with foam if its heavily oxidated.

I use the LC Purple Foam Wool pad, its wonderful.

If you can pull it inside a garage to avoid the heat amd wind, you will be saving yourself some heartache.

You could go the 1-2-3 approach and comound-polish-wax or just go with an AIO.

Generally you want to stick with dedicated boat/rv specific products. Gel coat is much different than paint and the abrasives and all around chemical mixtures are different. Such as the boat/rv abrasives are harder since they will need to cut the gel coat.

If you decide to go the AIO route, I recommend Meguiar's Boat/RV Cleaner Wax. Use this with an Foam Wool pad, then follow up with a orange or white pad.

Hope this helps.

Hoytman
02-10-2013, 02:54 AM
I respectfully disagree about using a wool pad on a dual action polisher, and with using foam on heavily oxidized gel-coat.