PDA

View Full Version : Question on machine waxing

CAD
02-05-2013, 08:14 PM
I am new to macine waxing/polishing. I am using a PC 7424, XMT Carnuba finishing glaze, and a gray CCS pad. I start out fine with the amount of product and the results. I keep adding product for every time I start a new area. Then it seems when I get to the side panels extra wax starts coming off the pad. I don't get why it seems to happen only on the side panels. But anyway it build up really heavy in areas and doesn't wipe off real good. Does anyone have this issue or know why it happens? And how do I correct it? Thanks in advance.

CM8 6MT
02-05-2013, 08:18 PM
You might not be maintaining enough contact/pressure on the side panels forcing your pad to rotate faster than normal. Your talking about product slinging right?

Crazy Amos
02-05-2013, 08:21 PM
How much are you adding to the pad each time?

a g thang
02-05-2013, 08:23 PM
Add less product a little goes a long way!!!! You wanna get a very thin layer on..
Also pay attention to the pad make sure ur not putting tpuch or to little pressure also try lowering the speed a bit

CAD
02-05-2013, 08:26 PM
No the product isn't slinging just leaving a lot of wax in areas. I add a circle bead halfway around the outside of the pad.

spiralout462
02-05-2013, 08:29 PM
In addition to what the others have said, the CCS pads allow product to be "stored" in the pockets to be released when you lighten you pressure........like on vertical panels. Just a guess of course. Most every problem I've ever had with a machine is due to my use of too much product.

CM8 6MT
02-05-2013, 08:32 PM
No the product isn't slinging just leaving a lot of wax in areas. I add a circle bead halfway around the outside of the pad.

Hmm thats odd, I use gray css pads exlusively for wax/sealants. What speed are you applying it at? I recommend speed 3, moving about 2-3 inches a second. You should see a nice bead of wax/sealant laid out.

Crazy Amos
02-05-2013, 10:30 PM