PDA

View Full Version : Grey or blue pad with finishing polish?

Radarryan
01-29-2013, 04:11 AM
Should I use a grey or blue LC CCS pad with the Optimum Finish Polish? I was leaning toward grey as a finishing pad, but the blue is touted as a finessing pad. Wanted to get the forum's advice. I plan on using Optimum Polish II with a white pad first in the most problematic areas.

Also, what do the pros use in "hand only" places? Do you fold a 5.5" pad or take a small applicator pad with no cut and just rely on the polish to do the work?

Thanks and Happy Detailing!

steamshooter
01-29-2013, 05:34 AM
I've used the grey pad for applying sealant. It's certainly soft enough. I've got a blue pad coming (a few hours away according to UPS tracker :xyxthumbs:) and I am planning on it to be my sealant/wax applicator and the grey will be used for a finishing polish. I don't think there are any hard and fast rules about what pad for what job.

I'm no pro by any means. I will use the pad off the PC to apply by hand whatever it has on it at the time. I don't wad up a 5.5 inch pad too much though, I'm afraid of damaging it. If it won't fit where it needs to go, then I go to a foam or microfiber hand pad.

As my Lake Country pads wear out they will be cut up to use in those tight spaces.

KenR
01-29-2013, 08:06 AM
I've used the LC 5.5" grey flat pads with good success when applying sealant. I also like the idea of using old cut up pads for hard to get at places. Thanks for the tip.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using AG Online

spiralout462
01-29-2013, 08:23 AM
The gray pad is firmer. This will allow you to apply more pressure, which is sometimes necessary when working a finishing polish. If I were you I would try both, and even white. Every paint system is different.

Radarryan
01-29-2013, 07:31 PM