PDA

View Full Version : technic to not make swirls

BenSRT
01-19-2013, 09:47 AM
Hi guys,

detailing is not my job but is my favorite hobby, I'm not a professional but I think I have a good technic for many steps like compounding, washing, claying, waxing. but I am like several here I would like do better.

What is your technic to not make swirl again on your car? I saw several videos to how to not make swirls and I have good microfibers, good products but at the end of summer I see little swirls come back again.

many thanks

HellaBroke
01-19-2013, 11:02 AM
Do you have a foam gun? That will help remove most of the looser dirt particulars. I foam let set a few rinse and then refoam. And it helps
Also I have noticed opticoat does not swirl as easy as clear so that's another thing I have going that's helping. I washing weekly as to not let particles sit too long and washing after bird poo or After I drive through the mountain pass etc..

AutowerxDetailing
01-19-2013, 11:13 AM
Tips to reduce wash induced swirls/marring:

1 - 2 bucket method (2-5gl buckets ea w/ grit guards).
2 - Pre-rinse heavy dirt build up with foam gun or high pressure water from hose.
3 - Quality wash mitts (1 for the upper half, 1 for lower panels). I like the CarPro wool mitt for upper and MF chenille for lower panels.
4 - Use quality car wash soap to proper dilution levels, lower dilutions will not provide enough lubrication during washing.
5 - Wash in straight lines instead of circular motions.
6 - Rinse your mitt multiple times while cleaning each panel.
7 - Use a completely separate bucket for wheels/tires.
8 - When drying use the blot dry method so you are not dragging a dry towel over the paint surface.

That's all I can think of for now.

Paul A.
01-19-2013, 04:29 PM
Also, very very light pressure while washing and drying. The soap breaks the hold dirt has on the paint...you just lightly run your wash media across the paint to pick it up. Same with drying, light pressure.

BenSRT