PDA

View Full Version : Collinite - Sealant or Wax

Pages : [1] 2

nubaseal
01-16-2013, 12:19 PM
Hi all,

I am new to detailing and so far have used only 3M and Duragloss Sealants and Optimum Car Wax.

I have read good things about Collinite but am very confused whether they are sealants or waxes. C845 claims to be a cleaner, sealant and wax while C 915 claims to be a Carnuba Wax. If that is true, C 845 should be used as a sealant while C 915 should be used as a top up over a sealant for the Nuba gloss?

rmagnus
01-16-2013, 01:32 PM
Welcome.

Col845 is a sealant/wax. It is extremely durable and the shine/protection is about as good as they come. I do not see a need to apply carnuba wax on top of 845 but try it and see if you like the result.

845 is an awesome product to use after polishing IMO.

Setec Astronomy
01-16-2013, 01:52 PM
The Collinites are waxes with "resins" added, which makes them more than just a wax, but doesn't make them sealants in my book. If they claim cleaning action for 845, that's likely due to the solvent content.

CM8 6MT
01-16-2013, 01:56 PM
Welcome.

Col845 is a sealant/wax. It is extremely durable and the shine/protection is about as good as they come. I do not see a need to apply carnuba wax on top of 845 but try it and see if you like the result.

845 is an awesome product to use after polishing IMO.

Rmagnus is spot on. Colli is one of the most durable products on the market.

nubaseal
01-16-2013, 02:11 PM
Thanks guys. So, if its not a sealant; the durability and longetivity should be less than a typical sealant like a DG105 or Opti Seal or UPGP. Is that correct?

KenR
01-16-2013, 02:55 PM
I have used 845 as a LSP on top of Menzerna Sealant, so I use it as a wax. I get about a month of protection before I top it off with either more 845 or something else.

wanabe detailer
01-16-2013, 04:14 PM
I use 845 over Opti Seal. Great combo IMO

RZJZA80
01-16-2013, 05:42 PM