PDA

View Full Version : Dodge Charger- water spots

thrownout27
12-29-2012, 05:34 PM
Afternoon,

I have a 2012 Dodge Charger with a red finish. I have some type 2 water spots and wanted some advice. I own all 3 LC hybrid pads, all 2.0 Meguiars pads, a Meguiars DA, Pinnacle swirl remover and finishing polish, m105 & m205, and a few other items. What is your guess on how we'll do. I am brand new to this and hope to not have to go with sanding or wool pads. Any other recommendations?

Rsurfer
12-29-2012, 06:46 PM
Afternoon,

I have a 2012 Dodge Charger with a red finish. I have some type 2 water spots and wanted some advice. I own all 3 LC hybrid pads, all 2.0 Meguiars pads, a Meguiars DA, Pinnacle swirl remover and finishing polish, m105 & m205, and a few other items. What is your guess on how we'll do. I am brand new to this and hope to not have to go with sanding or wool pads. Any other recommendations?
If your paint doesn't need polishing, use a water spot remover (acid) to remove the water spots without removing clear coat. If you need to polish anyway, use the least aggressive first (test spot).

Mike Phillips
01-03-2013, 09:20 AM
If your paint doesn't need polishing, use a water spot remover (acid) to remove the water spots without removing clear coat. If you need to polish anyway, use the least aggressive first (test spot).

Ron do you have a specific brand of acid water spot remover you recommend as well as how to use it and any safety precautions if it contains Hydrofluoric Acid?

:dunno:

Mike Phillips
01-03-2013, 09:34 AM
Afternoon,

I have a 2012 Dodge Charger with a red finish. I have some type 2 water spots and wanted some advice.

Type II Water Spots are the worst kind...

Type II Water Spots are actually crater etchings in the paint by something corrosive enough to physically eat or dissolve portions of your car's clear coat finish.