PDA

View Full Version : What not to polish/wax

LazyGhost
12-24-2012, 05:20 PM
Greetings all! Im a newbie all the way when it comes to detailing. Up till now, ive always owned older vehicles and never cared what they look like. The ole lady and i recently purchased two newer vehicles. A 2011 camaro, black with the glossy orange stripes. And a 2012 f150, blue with running boards.
Ive been reading here and there for the past few weeks about different products and techniques. And ive beeb picking up things here and there that i thought id need to tone my skills and make our vehicles look as good as possible.

Early on, i read some good things about Magueiars products so everything ive gotten so far chemically is magueiars. Im looking to hand polish/wax both vehicles this week. Havent gotten the clay bar set yet cause i was a little scared since im a newbie and all. However, after recently washing both vehicles and examining things there looks to be some impurities here that may benefit from a little claying. So ill be picking that up this week.

Anyhoot, my question is what should i avoid polishing and waxing? The f150's front grill is made of plastic and is chrome painted. Headlight covers? The glossy orange stripes on the camaro are not a dull matt finish, so im assuming i can go easy but polish/wax that. And the bumpers on the f150 are chrome i believe. Should i be buying another product for the bumpers?

PA DETAILER
12-24-2012, 05:30 PM
welcome. this will get you started......

Auto Detailing Facts, auto detailing Tips, How to detailing Guides, how to polish, how to wax, DIY detailing, do it yourself guides (http://www.autogeek.net/detailingtips.html)

without getting into detail (others will chime in) if you can do a one step (blackfire polish & seal) that will save you time with great results. and top it off with one of the spray sealants. (blackfire crystal seal/wolfgang etc) very easy to use.

AutowerxDetailing
12-24-2012, 05:40 PM