PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some general product advice...

skyline315
05-23-2006, 01:00 PM
Hey folks...I'm fairly new to the detailing scene, and was hoping you guys could give me some opinions:

I have an '06 Black Civic LX. My first detail was done entirely by hand:

Shampoo: Meguiar's Gold Class
Clay Bar: Clay Magic
Polish: ScratchX (I admittedly didn't use this correctly, so swirls remained)
Wax: Meguiar's Gold Class
Wheels/Tires: Meguiar's Hot Tire Spray
Glass: Stoner's
QD: Yep, that's right...Meguiar's again

Here are some pics: First detail. (http://www.8thcivic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4989)

I was pleased with the results, but am looking for more. I'd really like to achieve that deep wet look I've seen on so many black cars. The problem is that my money is somewhat limited, so I can't go out and buy the entire Zaino list of products, etc.

I do plan to by a PC 7336 from Lowe's, so that's my next step. But what then?

I was looking at the Zaino combo of Z-PC and Z-5 Pro(when it's released), but the fact that you need ZFX kind of turns me off and makes things even more pricey. Plus, knowing me, I'm sure I'd end up wanting to buy Z-2 Pro, Z-6, and Z-8, and things just go downhill from there, haha.

Instead of Z-PC, I had looked into 3M #39009 swirl remover/glaze for dark cars. Any thoughts on this product?

Anyway, I was hoping some folks could give me some alternative products that might suit me a little better than what I used last time and also be a little easier on the wallet.

Thanks!

JeffW
05-23-2006, 02:46 PM
Anyway, I was hoping some folks could give me some alternative products that might suit me a little better than what I used last time and also be a little easier on the wallet.

Thanks!

Excellent looking car, and good job on your first detail! I have a dark blue 06 Civic LX and simply love everything about it.