PDA

View Full Version : Clay

Don Porter
12-11-2012, 11:51 AM
I've been using Griot's Garage clay for several years. I just watched Mike remove paint overspray from a brand new Honda using DP. Not sure if Griot's would have removed that. Is there a big difference in quality clays? I've had good success with Griot's on normal fallout but when it came to heavy tar and such, I usually switch to a degreaser.

Tvanpool
12-13-2012, 11:38 AM
I've been using Griot's Garage clay for several years. I just watched Mike remove paint overspray from a brand new Honda using DP. Not sure if Griot's would have removed that. Is there a big difference in quality clays? I've had good success with Griot's on normal fallout but when it came to heavy tar and such, I usually switch to a degreaser.

My wife sprayed polyurethane on some piece of furniture in the garage and the overspray settled all over her Explorer. When I found it the paint felt like sandpaper. I was able to successfully remove it with Mothers clay. So I would think it would depend on what kind of overspray you have and how dry the overspray was when it settled on your car.
I have removed Highway Stripping paint before with lacqure thinner on a newer car with a clear top coat with no apparant damage but test first in a hidden area to see what effect it will have.

Andr3wilson
12-13-2012, 02:20 PM
Clay bars and qualities vary greatly from Fine-Aggressive.
To show you the varrieties, take a look at the Chemical Guys Clay (http://www.chemicalguys.com/clay_barwhat_is_Clay_Bar_For_Paint_Reconditioning_ s/7.htm)

Now the average run of the mill clay bar you get in a megs, Mothers, or equivalent kit is going to be on the fine to mild side. Heavy aggressive clays can quickly mar paint if used incorrectly.

I have not had experience with DP clay, but I am going to guess its abrasion level is close to, if not the same Pinnacle, Wolfgang and the rest of the lot.