PDA

View Full Version : PC and what can it remove/can't remove?

BlackRocks
05-23-2006, 11:01 AM
Hello. I am pretty new to this forum and I am very new to the PC DA unit.

I have some neighbors and friends that I detail cars for in a general sense. Not professional and not to the point of removing scratches. Now, I am looking at doing this as a serious business and have some questions about the PC and foam pad abilitites.

Can I get some ideas on what type of marks a PC and a cutting pad(yellow and orange) can do with a compound or aggressive polish? I am specifically interested in knowing if a PC can actually remove 2500 and 3000 grit wet sanding marks. I have a neighbor with a truck that is going to need some light sanding here and there. I do have a rotary buffer on order, but my skill level is low(from past experience) and will take some time to get up to par.

Todd

Neothin
05-24-2006, 08:54 PM
i've successfully removed hazing leftover by a rubbing compound paste on a beige vw bug using optimum hyper compound and a yellow 4" pad. it took FOREVER, but the marks did come clean.

and then i switched to a rotary and it took an hour to do the rest of the car :P

DS Detailer
05-24-2006, 10:01 PM
I'd rethink the business thing, atleast jumping right in. It takes a while to develop a niche... But once its there, its there.

FloridaNative
05-25-2006, 08:24 AM
Check out this link Black Rocks it is very educational and you can see the porter cable work on many kinds of defects. :) Hope it helps.
http://paintcare-n-detailing.com/video.html

nbk13nw
05-25-2006, 12:57 PM