PDA

View Full Version : Brown spots?

us6krums
11-14-2012, 10:30 PM
Starting on my last car, it's a 2005 Armada with grey paint. Passenger side door I have a couple chips that will be left but have most of the scratches out except a couple (never been touched in 100K miles). At the bottom of the door, I have these brown spots.
http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/IMG_04973.jpg

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/IMG_04964.jpg

I can feel them as I run my hand over them. I have clayed this section and did about 5 sections passes with Opt Hyper Compund and a MF pad with a 7424XP on speed 4. Nothing coming out yet.

Best advice? Keep going on the compound? Something else?

Thanks!

Drum
11-14-2012, 10:48 PM
I would try and wet sand.....very lightly... I'm no expert though.

tuscarora dave
11-14-2012, 11:30 PM
Have you tried any chemicals to get those spots off? Do they feel like they're above the level of the paint or more like they're etched into the paint? Save wetsanding as a last resort.

statusdetailing
11-15-2012, 01:53 AM
Looks like tree sap, but that wouldn't make sense on the lower panels. Probably just something nasty you picked up while driving. Wet sanding is almost always a bad choice. You need a good solvent and if that doesn't work you will need to compound with a rotary and a wool pad. The porter cable isn't going to cut it.

us6krums
11-15-2012, 07:58 AM
I haven't tried any chemicals, one thing I don't have yet. Would this be a paint cleaner? New to all this, so what does a paint cleaner do and what is the best to get? Or a solvent? Definitely feels like they are on top of the paint, but then again if they are etched in, how would the difference feel? I can feel the bumps as I run my hand across.

Setec Astronomy
11-15-2012, 08:12 AM