PDA

View Full Version : Photography Decisions - Help!!!

Pages : [1] 2

sportscarhiatus
11-06-2012, 11:55 AM
As most of you know, I am an avid photographer... am still learning a lot, but I love the challenge.

I currently shoot with a Nikon D60, and my trusty 18-55VR lens, and my CPF. I have had it for over 3 years... but the reason for this thread, for xmas, I am debating over what new "toy" to get. Wife said there is a certain threshold for pricing, but she hasn't set on it yet...

So, I think I have decided on 2 things.

50mm 1.4 AF-S Nikkor lens.

Adobe Lightroom 4/4.1

I was debating between other options like a new D5100 or a 18-200VR lens, but I think with the photos I take and the editing I do, I will have more use with the 50mm and Adobe than the other previously mentioned items.

My only concern with Lightroom is that I may not be able to do true HDR photos with it... you guys know how much I love HDR at times, lol. But I heard there are plug-ins for it? Not quite familiar with that yet... but maybe it's not bad. Also, they said I can do a pseudo HDR with just one image via Lightroom? hmmm I wanted Photoshop, but aside from it being $699, it is also clunkier to use that Lightroom.

So, you avid photographers out there, What say you to my propositions above? Good choices for gifts? how about lightroom vs photoshop?

thanks guys.

rmagnus
11-06-2012, 12:42 PM
Lightroom 4.1 is pretty awesome and inexpensive. I see too many get carried away with digital editing and photographs look fake. As for lenses you can never have too many. As for what to get that depends on it's intended purpose.

My daughter uses Lightrooom 4.1, Photoshop Elements (she wants Photoshop) and Sony Movie Studio. Obviously this is a passion of hers.

My vote would be 50mm f1.4 (sweet lens) and Lightroom. That should keep you busy.

kemefk
11-06-2012, 12:47 PM