PDA

View Full Version : clay bar storage

maxdetail
10-18-2012, 02:10 PM
Hi!! I've been using Ricardo yellow clay for 1 year and found that it is not lasting long enought. 1 caly bar cut in 3 the little piece last about 3-4 vehicules before it disintegrate to small bits. I'm thinking this clay bar does not like the heat to much?? It's stored it in it's plastic case in a drawer in the garage. Mabe it's not liking the CG maxi-sudsII I use for lube???

Twister
10-18-2012, 02:19 PM
Some lubes will cause the clay to fall apart quicker. I quit using soap and water mixture and started using products like ONR, UWW+ or a dedicated clay lube

maxdetail
10-18-2012, 04:33 PM
Some lubes will cause the clay to fall apart quicker. I quit using soap and water mixture and started using products like ONR, UWW+ or a dedicated clay lube

Thanks for you input!

Chesniak
10-18-2012, 07:46 PM
I have been using the same bar of Riccardo Blue clay for almost 3 years now! i keep it in a air tight jar with a spray of ONR on it.

maxdetail
10-18-2012, 09:05 PM
I have been using the same bar of Riccardo Blue clay for almost 3 years now! i keep it in a air tight jar with a spray of ONR on it.

WOW!! I had never really look at ONR before because the cars I get to clean are usualy extremly dirty. Now that I have read up on it I am definitly getting some thanks.:dblthumb2:

slapshot
10-20-2012, 07:32 PM
I keep mine in a zip lock bag with spray detailer on it to keep it moist. I just replaced one after almost 2 years. I end up replacing them due to being dirty and not falling apart.

Capa1970
10-20-2012, 09:36 PM
My griot's clay started to fall apart (almost disintegrate) after a year of use. At first I assumed it was because I had tried Griot's waterless wash but then the next time I switched to UWW+ and the disintegration continues :(
The clay is kept indoors in Griot's clay can and I always spray it with some sort of quick detailer. The clay is now two years old.

lawrenceSA
10-22-2012, 07:35 AM