PDA

View Full Version : Interior Detail to Kill/Remove Lice

KJW Detailing
10-15-2012, 10:01 AM
I was contacted this morning to do an emergency interior detail. The owner of the automobile unfortunately has a child with lice. This is a first for me. Does anyone have any suggestions, cautions, etc.

Thanks

swanicyouth
10-15-2012, 10:03 AM
As a pharmacist, I usually recommend a spray product with permethrin like:

Brand Names: Elimite(Rx only), Lice Bedding Spray, Nix Lice Control, RID Home Lice Control Spray for Surfaces

Generic Name: permethrin topical (Pronunciation: per METH rin)

Just make sure it has the above active ingredient in it. It's fairly safe if used periodically, as people with scabies slather it all over their bodies from head to toe. If you notice any signs that you are allergic to the product (itching, swelling, rash, or difficulty breathing) - take Benadryl and seek a Dr.

If I recall correctly, this drug is actually made from chrysanthemums

KJW Detailing
10-15-2012, 10:11 AM
Can any of those products be bought OTC?

swanicyouth
10-15-2012, 10:30 AM
All of them, except under the trade name Elimite.

Eandras
10-15-2012, 12:07 PM
This is good to know. What is the wait time on something like this? Is it a spray and remove?

yakky
10-15-2012, 12:08 PM
Leave the heat on with a temp guage in the car for a long while. Anything over 130 degrees will kill them.

Kinalyx
10-15-2012, 02:13 PM
Also, check some of the local exotic pet stores in your area. A product called Provent-a-mite works amazingly well on mites, lice, ect. Its safer, and works better from what ive seen.

I need a bunch of this when a few of my snakes got mites, and mites are a type of lice that attack reptiles.

Shawn

BuckeyeR/T
10-15-2012, 02:14 PM
Leave the heat on with a temp guage in the car for a long while. Anything over 130 degrees will kill them.

Are you thinking bed bugs?

swanicyouth
10-15-2012, 02:22 PM