PDA

View Full Version : Car Insurance

Sunexim
09-29-2012, 01:55 AM
Hello Friends,

I have one car and now its time to renew my car insurance. Some people told me to go with 3rd party insurance and some suggest me to go with 1st party insurance.
But i have no knowledge about 1st and 3rd party insurance. Please let me know which one will be best for my car?

FUNX650
09-29-2012, 05:08 AM
Insurance lingo in regards to "Party":

First Party... The person or Business that purchases insurance. The Policy Holder
-The first party buys the insurance to protect its assets in case of an accident

Second Party...Insurance Company that lets insurance policies
-Pays compensation to the policyholder for damages to their property that they have insured
-Pays compensation for damages or harm to another person or persons who become involved in an accident in which the policyholder had a part.

Third Party...(Known as liability insurance.)
Two types:
-Personal injury...Cost of medical bills and lost wages due to an accident to another person or persons.
-Property...Costs of damage done to another person or persons property during the course of an accident in which the policyholder had a part.

-Most States require licensed vehicle operators to carry liablity insurance.

-I hate having to pay Uninsured Motorists Insurance!!!

:)

Bob

mwoolfso
09-29-2012, 07:05 AM
Hello Friends,

I have one car and now its time to renew my car insurance. Some people told me to go with 3rd party insurance and some suggest me to go with 1st party insurance.
But i have no knowledge about 1st and 3rd party insurance. Please let me know which one will be best for my car?

A long time ago I was told (and shown) how to get the largest amount of protection for your money. I have a personal umbrella policy for like $1.2MM (costs me ~200/yr), and then a medium-high deductible auto and home insurance policy. For my vehicles I have a $1K deductible and for home I think it is something like $3-7K.